MINUTES OF MEETING SMITH COUNTY EMERGENCY SERVICES DISTRICT NUMBER 1 BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS REGULAR MEETING LINDALE VOLUNTEER FIRE DEPARTMENT, LINDALE, TEXAS APRIL 15, 2021

Carolyn Todd, President, called the meeting to order.

Owen Scott gave the invocation.

Pledge by all in attendance to the American Flag lead by Joe Yeakley.

Carolyn Todd certified that the Agenda was posted as dictated by law on the Board Website on April 08, 2021, and at the Lindale Volunteer Fire Department on April 12, 2021. Board Members present in addition to Carolyn Todd were Louie Brown, Kenneth Smith, Owen Scott and Charles Froebe. Annie Baldwin, Volunteer Clerk, was absent.

Louie Brown made a motion to approve the Agenda with the understanding that the items may be acted upon in any order. Motion seconded by Charles Froebe. All in favor and motion carried.

The minutes of the Regular Meeting of March 18, 2021, Board of Commissioners, were presented for approval. Kenneth Smith made a motion to approve the minutes. Motion seconded by Owen Scott. All in favor and motion carried.

There were no citizens to talk during Citizen Talk Time.

Joe Yeakley, Fire Chief, Lindale Volunteer Fire Department, presented the monthly activities report for March. He stated they had had a typical month. COVID-19 is still a concern. No one is infected at this point. Shots are available. Engine 2 is still in the shop and the Department will need to decide what to do with this piece of equipment. Payroll is down as firefighters are not volunteering as much as they used to. Department still has forty-three volunteers. A discussion was held concerning sales tax and if this could be something the ESD could look into.

Charles Froebe, Treasurer, presented the bills for the Lindale Volunteer Fire Department. The totals requested for District funds was \$ 63,041.05. Louie Brown made a motion to approve the bills and pay the fire department the requested amount. Motion seconded by Owen Scott. All in favor and motion carried.

Kenneth Smith explained the Tax Abatement Policy and the need to renew it every two years. He stated the policy is adopted by all the taxing entities in Smith County. A motion was made by Charles Froebe for a Resolution to adopt Tax Abatement Policy for the next two years to be effective May 20, 2021, through May 19, 2023. Motion seconded by Owen Scott. All in favor and motion carried.

Charles Froebe presented the Treasurer's Report for March 2021. A motion was made by Louie Brown to approve the report. Motion seconded by Owen Scott. All in favor and motion carried.

Owen Scott made a motion to adjourn. Motion seconded by Charles Froebe. All in favor and motion carried.

CAROLYN TODD, PRESIDENT

KENNETH SMITH, SECRETARY