## MINUTES OF MEETING SMITH COUNTY EMERGENCY SERVICES DISTRICT NUMBER 1 BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS REGULAR MEETING LINDALE VOLUNTEER FIRE DEPARTMENT, LINDALE, TEXAS JANUARY 20, 2022

Louie Brown, Vice President, called the meeting to order.

Kenneth Smith gave the invocation.

Pledge by all in attendance to the American Flag lead by Charles Froebe.

Louie Brown certified that the Agenda was posted as dictated by law on the Board Website on January 13, 2022, and at the Lindale Volunteer Fire Department on January 13, 2022. Board Members present in addition to Louie Brown were Owen Scott, Kenneth Smith and Charles Froebe. Board Member Carolyn Todd was absent. Annie Baldwin, Volunteer Clerk, was present.

A motion was made by Charles Froebe for a Resolution to elect the following officers: President, Carolyn Todd; Vice-President, Louie Brown; Secretary, Kenneth Smith; Treasurer, Charles Froebe; and Assistant Treasurer, Owen Scott. All officers will be authorized to sign on any financial accounts. Annie Baldwin, Volunteer Clerk, will be authorized to inquire on any financial accounts. Motion seconded by Owen Scott. All in favor and motion carried.

Charles Froebe made a motion to approve the Agenda with the understanding that the items may be acted upon in any order. Motion seconded by Owen Scott. All in favor and motion carried.

The minutes of the Regular Meeting of December 16, 2021, Board of Commissioners, were presented for approval. Kenneth Smith made a motion to approve the minutes. Motion seconded by Charles Froebe. All in favor and motion carried.

There were no citizens to talk during Citizen Talk Time.

Kenneth Smith presented Plan A of the redistricting plans. He explained the steps the Board has taken in the redistricting process: voted to redistrict, adopted criteria for 2021 redistricting and adopted guidelines for redistricting. He explained that information about public comments were posted on the Board Website and the Lindale Volunteer Fire Department Website and the way the public could comment on the redistricting. He presented a map for Plan A and explained the population from District 5 to District 2 which was eighty-five people. He also explained the areas of change from District 5 to District 2.

There were no citizens to present written and oral comments regarding the draft illustrative plans redistricting the Smith County Emergency Services District #1.

A motion was made by Kenneth Smith for a Resolution approving Plan A redistricting of the single-member commissioner district and establishing new commissioner district boundary lines for commissioner elections based on 2020 census data; and providing for an effective date. Motion seconded by Owen Scott. All in favor and motion carried.

Jordan Hicks, Lindale Volunteer Fire Department, stated he did not have the monthly reports for December to present. Charles Froebe stated that Joe Yeakley, Fire Chief, had forwarded the monthly activities to each Board Member and that there was 29 good intent calls made. Mr. Hicks explained how a call is coded by the Department. He stated that they had not heard anything lately concerning the new fire truck that has been ordered, but he suspects that they have started building it.

Charles Froebe, Treasurer, presented the bills for the Lindale Volunteer Fire Department. The total requested for District funds was \$ 56,430.16. Owen Scott made a motion to approve the bills and pay the fire department the requested amount. Motion seconded by Kenneth Smith. All in favor and motion carried.

Charles Froebe presented the following bills for payment: Bickerstaff Heath Delgado Acosta LLP \$ 4,500 for 2021 Redistricting-Initial Assessment; Bickerstaff Hath Delgado Acosta LLP \$ 3,005 for 2021 Redistricting. Owen Scott made a motion to approve payment of the bills as presented. Motion seconded by Kenneth Smith. All in favor and motion carried.

Charles Froebe presented the Treasurer's Report for December 2021. Owen Scott made a motion to approve the report. Motion seconded by Kenneth Smith. All in favor and motion carried.

Charles Froebe made a motion to adjourn. Motion seconded by Kenneth Smith. All in favor and motion carried.

CAROLYN TODD, PRESIDENT

KENNETH SMITH, SECRETARY