MINUTES OF MEETING SMITH COUNTY EMERGENCY SERVICES DISTRICT NUMBER 1 BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS REGULAR MEETING LINDALE VOLUNTEER FIRE DEPARTMENT, LINDALE, TEXAS May 19, 2022

Carolyn Todd, President, called the meeting to order.

Owen Scott gave the invocation.

Pledge by all in attendance to the American Flag lead by Louie Brown.

Carolyn Todd certified that the Agenda was posted as dictated by law on the Board Website on May12, 2022, and at the Lindale Volunteer Fire Department on May 12, 2022. Board Members present in addition to Carolyn Todd were Kenneth Smith, Owen Scott, Louie Brown and Charles Froebe. Annie Baldwin, Volunteer Clerk, was present.

Louie Brown made a motion to approve the Agenda with the understanding that the items may be acted upon in any order. Motion seconded by Charles Froebe. All in favor and motion carried.

The minutes of the Regular Meeting of April 21, 2022, Board of Commissioners, were presented for approval. Kenneth Smith made a motion to approve the minutes. Motion seconded by Charles Froebe. All in favor and motion carried.

There were no citizens to talk during Citizen Talk Time.

Joe Yeakley, Fire Chief, Lindale Volunteer Fire Department, gave the monthly activities reports for April 2022. He stated the Department had fewer calls than the month before. Jordan Hicks, Chris Mahler, and Josh Johnson drove to Appleton, Wisconsin for a final inspection on the new fire truck. The truck may be here in a week or two. The fire truck will be at Station Two.

Charles Froebe, Treasurer, presented the bills for the Lindale Volunteer Fire Department. The total requested for District funds was \$ 35,778.55. Louie Brown made a motion to approve the bills and pay the fire department the requested amount. Motion seconded by Owen Scott. All in favor and motion carried.

Annie Baldwin explained that each year the Board has to decide if we will continue the workman's compensation for the Lindale Volunteer Fire Department. She stated that she feels the Board should not have to revisit this each year as it is a given that the Board will continue it. Louie Brown made a motion for a Resolution to continue the workman's compensation for the Lindale Volunteer Fire Department until such time as the Board deems it unnecessary. The Board will no long need to revisit this item concerning workman's compensation each year unless a change is requested. Motion seconded by Charles Froebe. All in favor and motion carried.

Annie Baldwin lead a discussion concerning Preliminary Property Value Analysis for 2022 from information from the Smith County Appraisal District. No action necessary to be taken.

Annie Baldwin lead a discussion concerning the planning calendar for tax year 2022 and the dates necessary to adopt the District's budget and set a tax rate. Charles Froebe mate a motion to approve the Planning Calendar for Truth-In-Taxation for 2022. Motion seconded by Louie Brown. All in favor and motion carried.

Annie Baldwin discussed amending the District's budget for fiscal year ending September 30, 2022. Owen Scott made a motion for a Resolution to amend the budget for fiscal year ending September 30, 2022. Motion seconded by Louie Brown. All in favor and motion carried.

Annie Baldwin lead a discussion concerning budget for the District for fiscal year ending September 30, 2023. No action necessary to be taken.

Joe Yeakley lead a discussion concerning budget for the Lindale Volunteer Fire Department for fiscal year ending September 30, 3023. No action necessary to be taken.

Carolyn Todd stated that she has not received any further communication from Ken Campbell, Attorney, concerning the Sales and Use Tax; therefore, she would table the item at this time. She stated that she would contact Mr. Campbell.

Charles Froebe presented the following bill for payment: Annie Baldwin \$ 533.79 (\$ 240.00 training; \$ 293.79 office.) Louie Brown made a motion to approve payment of the bill as presented. Motion seconded by Kenneth Smith. All in favor and motion carried.

Charles Froebe presented the Treasurer's Report for April 2022. Owen Scott made a motion to approve the report. Motion seconded by Louie Brown. All in favor and motion carried.

Louie Brown made a motion to adjourn. Motion seconded by Charles Froebe. All in favor and motion carried.

	CAROLYN TODD, PRESIDENT
KENNETH SMITH, SECRETARY	